Cookie Consent by FreePrivacyPolicy.com Testimonials | Testimonials | South Northamptonshire Council

Testimonials

EH Sense logo

EH Sense is proud to have supported local businesses to enable them to understand the complexities of environmental health legislation.

This enables businesses to comply with food safety, health and safety, licensing, pollution and nuisance law and allows them to focus on developing and growing their business.

Below are testimonials from some businesses we have supported.

Rectory Farm

Wappenham Farm logo

As a farming business that has diversified with opening a Pumpkin and Christmas Shop and attracting many visitors, we certainly needed to comply to be COVID secure. It was a complete minefield going through the ever-changing government guidelines and we never felt confident that we were able to comply fully. We felt very lost with where to go for advice – we fitted under the farm umbrella but also retail and the guidance was not clear for when these two enterprises mix. Thankfully Claire and the Environmental Health Team were able to provide all the relevant guidance. We could list all our questions in an email and a clear response would be given. We have been able to make business decisions from all the advice received and can now open confidently knowing that we fully comply.

Anette - October 2020


The Buttery

The Buttery

I would just like to say how very grateful I was when after contacting South Northamptonshire Health Protection Team.

I spoke to an officer, Daniel, many times without who, to be quite honest, I do not think we would have our hospitality business open even now without his professional input. Daniel and the team got us through some complicated issues clarifying complicated Government guidelines and third party issues.

The most important thing I would like to say is this: "We all seem to fear Environmental Health Officers within our food businesses but they have been so very helpful and, in my opinion, have enabled our business to keep going and keep our staff employed. They are here to help and have done us proud".

Polly - October 2020


Bar Encore

Bar Encore logo

South Northamptonshire Environmental Health Officers have really assisted me during the COVID-19 pandemic. After hearing and reading through the Government guidelines set when venues could reopen after lockdown, it was all very daunting. Picking up the phone and being able to talk through the guidelines with an officer was much appreciated. I had lots of questions and they were not just helpful but also supportive. The Council also provided us with free signage for reopening, which was a really lovely gesture, and even up until now, every now and then we have someone pop in when guidelines change to make sure that we are doing everything we should be. I believe we are lucky to have such good Environmental Health Officers that are always at the end of the phone / email to answer any questions.

Thank you, Daniel and team.

Katrina - October 2020


Bugbrooke St Michaels FC

 Bugbrooke St Michaels FC badge

Following the latest COVID announcement from the Government advising of changes to the legislation in relation to licensed premises, Bugbrooke St Michaels was struggling to interpret the rules with specific reference to the consumption of food and drink by spectators standing pitch side. Having tried numerous avenues without joy I contacted South Northants Council and received a response from Daniel that not only provided clarity but also confirmed our compliance. What followed was a number of follow up queries, all of which were responded to in a timely manner.

Nick - October 2020


Home from Home and 4U nurseries

Ten of our team were involved in the Strive for 5 visit and really enjoyed it. Daniel was very thorough and engaging and what was discussed will be with me forever! This service will ensure best practice and will give your team a completely different perspective for food hygiene, now in the eyes of an inspector. For just over £200, it is a must do for any food business team.

Maria - June 2019


Principles of Food Safety in Catering - Taught Course

Excellent course with loads of helpful information on the basics of food hygiene for any food business.

Magdalena - March 2019


The Star Inn - Sulgrave

When we took over our new business ‘The Star Inn’ Public House, we contacted the EH Department to advise of a change of Landlord’s.

Daniel Kenward contacted us and offered to email us helpful information and contacts prior to our main inspection. We explained we were new to this business so Daniel offered to come and visit us and talk through what was required to obtain a good star rating!

We found Daniel’s pre inspection visit extremely useful and helpful, from identifying possible issues going forward to helping out with advice on improvements. We were new landlords with quite a task of improvements ahead! We also went through paperwork for example training records and cleaning practices, and advice on Safer Food Better Business.

We were able to act on Daniel’s advice and are proud and pleased to say when we did get our unannounced EH Visit, a few weeks later, we obtained a 5* rating.

We would truly recommend contacting EH for advice either when entering into a new business or whether seeking advice in your current business. At the end of the day we are all working together to achieve the same results ‘Safer Food Better Business’.

Nicola Shooter and Stephen Kendall - April 2018


Pound for Pound - Aston Le Walls

In preparation for starting my own catering business I recently took the level 2 Food Safety in Catering course run by Cherwell District Council led by Sally Collett. This course was very thorough, interactive and informative leaving me with the confidence that I now have the knowledge I need to start trading in a safe and efficient way. The course covered a broad range of topics from the legal requirements to food handling and safe storage of foods. I would recommend the course to anyone planning to start a catering business.

My wife has recently done the on line course which she also found helpful but obviously lacked the opportunity to ask questions.

Grahame - May 2018