What is a Council

Government in the UK is provided at both a national and a local level.

Locally, the country is divided into a series of local authorities (also known as Councils). Every four years, voters in each area elect people to the Council to represent them.

There are three tiers of local government for South Northamptonshire.

The people elected as Councillors make up the Membership of the Council and are therefore often known as 'Members' as well as 'Councillors'. The two terms mean the same thing.

The people who stand for election as Councillors may belong to one of the national political parties or to a local political party, or they may be completely independent of a political party.

If more than half of the people on a council belong to a particular political party, that party is referred to as the majority party and its leader or its nominated representative is known as the Leader of the Council.

If none of the political parties has an overall majority, the Council is known as a hung council and the Leader is usually, but not always, nominated by party with the largest number of Members.

How do you rate this page?

Website Feedback